Westview Holds Winter Student Activity Recognition Night

On Thursday, January 25th, Westview held its 2018-2019 Winter Student Activity Night. District 60 and Westview staff take great pride in recognizing students who have excelled during their participation in an extracurricular sport or activity.

Setting goals that stretch our abilities is the first step to excellence, and achieving our goals is the most gratifying achievement one can experience. We are very proud of each of these outstanding students who are truly representing The Westview Way. This student body has been inspirational, motivational, and hugely impactful in its collective wins and achievements. In D60, it’s important not just to celebrate the achievements of our students, but also to give due regard to our values and morals which these awardees exemplify, like discipline, compassion and zeal for learning.

Westview recognized students across a number of activities, including Student Senate, Boys Cross Country, Girls Cross Country, Girls JV Basketball, Girls Varsity Volleyball, ILMEA Band and ILMEA Jazz Band.


Student Senate

The following students were recognized for their help and support with the school dances, sing alongs, activity planning, PAW MART, and awesome academic performance.

Olivia Wojczynski, Kiya Sanders, Zara Jamil, Daniel Eppley, Fredy Ramirez Jaramillo, Valeria Gonzalez, Padmasri Thirunarayanan, Pedrag Komljenovic, Aditi Ranjan, Pranav Karra, Temo Garcia, Elena Pasheva, Ivy Shen, Melanie Rios, Emily Nemeth, Maria DeSantiago, Naomi Luangdilok, Tamara Kohout

Boys Cross Country

The following students were recognized for having gone undefeated, winning their conference meet, and placing 4th at the IESA State meet.

Akram Alothman, Manny Arellano, Zach Bender, Eimantas Bockus, Grant Diedrich, Daniel Dzanda, Adam Lacayo, Grant Miller, Tommy Noonan, Rohan Tvelil


Girls Cross Country

The following students have been recognized as All Conference Athletes.

Catie McCabe, Elena Garcia, Laura Misiunas, Mai-Jeanna Sakho, Ava Berg, Kayla Pasciak, Kaitlyn Parker, Rachel Zuo, Katie Baker, Victoria Dzanda, Sara Lacayo, Kennedy Boyd


Girls JV Basketball

The following students have been recognized as excellent athletes and team players.

Nidaa Nabeel, Layla Xiao


Girls Varsity Volleyball

The following students have been recognized for an undefeated volleyball season and contributing to the first place win at the 2019 Conference Tournament.

Suzette Alvarez, Amy Bayarsaikhan, Anna Bayasgalan, Sarah Brosius, Kendall Chen, Amber Pelton, Ava Young, Sara Young



The following students were recognized for their participation in the Illinois Music Educator's Association. Both Band and Jazz Band are recognized.

Analise Budziak*, Aarush Palli, Sebrina Sebastian, Sonali Marion**, Colleen Milos, Vandana Sivakumar, Jordyn DeLeon***, Elena Garcia, Jason Yawe, Ethan Hallberg, Nathan Lee (Jazz Band), David Moffett (Jazz Band)

*This is Analise's 3rd year in the Illinois Music Educator's Association District 1 festival, as a cello player in the orchestra. This year Analise represented our school by playing first chair cello.

**Sonali has also been selected to represent Westview Hills at the All Illinois Junior Band Festival in February at the University of Illinois. She was first chair oboe in ILMEA.

***Jordyn was also selected as an alternate for the All Illinois Junior Band festival, on clarinet.